HomePrintEmail

Go To Search
Town AdministrationTown ServicesOur CommunityBusinessesVisitors
I Want To
Click to Home

SAFETY & LAW ENFORCEMENT

Forest Heights Crime-fighting Surveillance Camera Installation



Maryland’s ‘Move Over’ Laws

Please be mindful of new changes made to the ‘move over’ law that went into effect Oct. 1, 2014 requiring drivers to ‘move over’ for police, fire, emergency medical services personnel and tow truck operators working on Maryland roadsides.

The law requires drivers, if possible, to move over into the next lane when approaching an emergency vehicle from the rear that is stopped and displaying its emergency lights. If it is not possible for drivers to move over they must slow down to a reasonable and prudent speed and be prepared to stop if necessary.

While the ‘move over’ law applies to emergency vehicles like ambulances and police cars, drivers should exercise this same caution whenever they come across an accident, disabled vehicle, or road crew on the side of the road. The intent of the law is to provide an extra barrier of safety for those working along the side of Maryland highways.

Drivers are reminded the ‘move over’ law is a primary offense with a fine of $110 and one point. If the violation contributes to a traffic collision, the fine will be $150 and three points. If the violation contributes to crash resulting in death or serious injury, the fine is $750 and three points.