There is hereby adopted by the Town Council, the Fire Safety Law of Prince George's County, Maryland, as amended, from time to time by the Prince George's County Council as a supplement to the State of Maryland Fire Prevention Code adopted pursuant to the Annotated Code of Maryland, for the purpose of prescribing regulations governing conditions hazardous to life and property from fire and explosion; the same is hereby adopted by the Mayor and Council and the provisions thereof shall be controlling and effective within the corporate limits of the Town as further supplemented by the provisions of this article.
Section 9.2: Prevention of Fires
No fuel, shavings, waste paper, trash or other combustible matter shall be burned in the open within the Town limits.
Section 9.3: False Alarms or Removing Fire Equipment
It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly give a false alarm or to remove any fire apparatus or equipment belonging to the Town from its proper place except in the case of fire or other public necessity.
Section 9.4: Fire Extinguishers Required
Every person or corporation who owns a hotel, boarding house, rooming house or restaurant or other business and, the owner of every building within the Town where inflammable oil or other flammable or explosive material is stored is required to keep and maintain in operating condition on the premises, one or more suitable fire extinguishers.
Section 9.5: Penalty
Any person violating the provisions of the Article shall be guilty of an infraction and shall, upon conviction, be fined not more than $100 for the first offense. Repeat offenders may be assessed a fine not to exceed $200 for each repeat offense.
Online Services | One Community • Many Cultures Let Us Help You